I Wish

I wish you’d told me I could do anything.

I wish you’d said I could write a book,

Or that I could be a famous artist.

I wish you’d said that you’d love me no matter what,

And that my future wouldn’t affect how you’d feel.

I wish you’d told me it’s okay to not make a lot of money,

That I didn’t have to marry a rich guy.

I wish you hadn’t made fun of my future so much,

Or joked about my life all the time.

I wish you’d told me I was beautiful,

That I was special.

I wish you’d told me I was smart,

No matter what my grades said.

I wish you’d say sorry to me when you yelled at me,

I wish you’d hugged me when I cried.

I wish you’d given me your support,

In everything I did.

I wish you’d told me I could do anything.

 

Yeah, I wish.

 

2 thoughts on “I Wish

Leave a comment